banner search whats new site index home

New London County Connecticut

New London County, occupying the southeastern part of Connecticut, is bounded on the east by the State of Rhode Island, on the south by Long Island Sound, on the west by Middlesex and Tolland counties, and on the north by Hartford, Tolland, and Windham counties.

The county covers an area of approximately 700 square miles. It was one of the first four counties established in the State, organized in 1666, and originally included a considerable part of the present Middlesex County, extending as far west as Clinton. Of the five first cities of Connecticut chartered in 1794, New London County had two, New London and Norwich.

New London was settled as "Pequot" in 1646; named from London, England, and authorized as a town in 1658. Norwich, named from Norwich England, was settled about 1659 by a colony of settlers coming from Saybrook. [1]

  1. Benjamin Tinkham Marshall, A.M., D.D., Editor-in-Chief, A Modern History of New London County Connecticut, Volume I, Lewis Historical Publishing Company, New York, 1922.
Information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed.
Privacy | Disclaimer © 1997-2019
The Gombach Group • Contact • 3051