Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Fulton County, Georgia


Fulton County Neighborhoods

The Fulton County Courthouse is located at 141 Pryor Street, Atlanta GA 30301; phone: 404-730-8200.


Fulton County was created from DeKalb County in 1853. While conflicting accounts of its name exist, most believe that the county was named for Robert Fulton who built a steamboat ca. 1807. During the Great Depression, ca. 1932, Milton and Campbell counties and the city of Roswell from Cobb county. Seventy miles of Fulton borders the Chatahoochee River. The Fulton County Seat was originally incorporated with the name Terminus, with subsequent name changes to Marthasville, and, finally, Atlanta. Atlanta was made the State Capital in 1868. Because of its odd shape, the result of annexations, Fulton is bordered by 10 other Georgia counties: Carroll, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, and Gwinnett.