Erie County, New York

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact | Search

Erie County administrative offices are located in the Rath Building, 25 Delaware Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14202; phone: 716‑858‑7500.

Erie County Neighborhoods


Incorporated in 1821 as Tryon County (from Niagara County) the name was changed to Erie in 1784.

The county seat (Buffalo) is home to 10 National Historic Landmark properties; included among these is the "Darwin D. Martin" house, ca. 1905; a definitive example of Frank Lloyd Wright's Prairie Style residences, it is one of his earliest, best-preserved, and most-impressive.

In the Village of Akron, (Erie County) the Newstead Historical Society maintains and operates the Rich-Twinn House (ca.1849) as a museum; it is a restored example of the extremely rare Octagon Style of American residential architecture. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1995.

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact
Privacy | Disclaimer

Copyright © 1997-2024, The Gombach Group