Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Charleston County, South Carolina


Charleston County Neighborhoods

The Charleston County Courthouse is located at 2 Courthouse Square, Charleston SC 29401; phone: 843-958-4030.

During the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries, South Carolina had no less than six major re-organizations of counties and "districts." Charles Town district was first created in 1768, but it wasn't until 1897 that "Charleston County" arrived at its present-day boundaries.