Lenhartsville Borough Hall is located at 18 Willow Street, Lenhartsville, PA 19534; phone: 610-376-1531.
The Lenhart family settled at the point where this borough is located long before the county was organized. The borough was incorporated in 1887, but the town bore the name one hundred years earlier. It is located in Greenwich Township along the Maidencreek. The post office was established in 1854.
In the town there are two hotels, three stores, a blacksmith shop and about fifty houses. Several grist mills gave the town prominence from its early history and made it a business center. It was the center for several stage lines for many years.
The Maidencreek Charcoal Furnace was erected in 1854, a short distance from the village. It became an important shipping point when the Berks County Railroad was built in 1874. There is a flourishing shirt factory employing twenty-five hands.
Lenhartsville has long been quite a summer resort. Pure drinking water is derived from mountain springs. The Maidencreek, one of the county's picturesque streams, flows by the town and affords splendid fishing.
Copyright © 1997-2019 • The Gombach Group • www.gombach.com • 10087 • Privacy