banner search whats new site index home

Acworth City

Acworth City Hall is located at 4415 Senator Russell Avenue, Acworth, GA 30101; phone: 770-974-3112.

Beginnings [1]

The land which is occupied by Acworth was originally home to Cherokee Indians. Georgia organized Cherokee County in 1831 and a year later divided it into 10 separate counties which included Cobb County. Northcutt Station was a water stop on the Georgia-owned Western and Atlantic Railroad which operated between Atlanta and Chattanooga, TN. Joseph Gregg, a railroad engineer, renamed the station for his hometown, Acworth, New Hampshire. Acworth was incorporated in 1860.

  1. The History Behind Our Town, City of Acworth,, accessed May, 2011.
**Information is curated from a variety of sources and, while deemed reliable, is not guaranteed. © 1997-2019 • The Gombach Group • Contact • 15882 • Privacy | Disclaimer