Glover Historic District
The Glover Historic District was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988. Portions of the content on this web page were adapted from a copy of the original nomination document for the Woodbury Multiple Resource Area.  Adaptation copyright © 2010, The Gombach Group.
Historic District 
The Glover Historic District represents a residential development for the influx of workers employed at Green's patent medicine lab between 1870 and 1890. The "West End," was laid out by, and named for, Jacob Glover. He was a well-known blacksmith and businessman in Woodbury with his home and shop on Broad Street at the intersection with High Street. In the 1940's Glover's house and the one next to it were moved around the corner to face onto High Street. The area west of Broad Street formerly contained only one other structure. It was known as Pine Ridge Hall or the Cooper-Tatum Plantation. It was originally a farmhouse, but as the neighborhood began to develop it later functioned as a boarding house and resort home for vacationers and competed with Green's resort hotel located on Woodbury's East Side. Pine Ridge Hall featured dancing and picturesque surroundings. These summer populations seeking respite from Philadelphia added to Woodbury's financial base creating a more extensive market for local merchants. In 1889, in response to the increased populations of workers and their children in this area, the West End School was erected while an identical school was built over the same blueprints on Walnut Street in North Woodbury in the same year.