Fairfax County administrative offices are located at 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035; phone: 703‑324‑7329.
The county was established in 1742 and named for Thomas Fairfax [1693-1781] a British Lord who inherited substantial land in the Virginia Colony.
In 1969 Fairfax County created 13 Historic Overlay Districts (HOD) to better protect certain unique areas of historical significance to residents and visitors. These districts are: Bull Run Stone Bridge, Centreville, Colvin Run Mill, Dranesville Tavern, Huntley, Lake Anne Village Center, Langley Fork, Mount Air, Pohick Church, Robey's Mill, Saint Mary's Church, Sully and Woodlawn. These heritage resources continue to be recognized as major contributors to the quality of life in Fairfax County and to its reputation as one of the major centers for cultural tourism in Virginia and the United States.