Lock Haven City Hall is located at 20 East Church Street, Lock Haven PA 17745.
Lock Haven was laid out about 1833, incorporated as a borough in 1840, became the Clinton County Seat in 1844, and was incorporated as a City in 1870.
Lock Haven, with advance road signs, county seat; population 8,559. Through the efforts of the city government, Board of Trade, and Women's Civic Club, John Nolen, of Cambridge, Massachusetts, was engaged to prepare a formal "City Plan" for the future growth and development of the city. This plan includes no radical changes or extravagant improvements, but conforms to the requirements of a small community. Embraces simple, but definite plans for the esthetic improvement of the fronts of the Susquehanna and Bald Eagle Rivers, between which Lock Haven is situated. The proper location and grouping of future public buildings, with a civic center at Monument Place, the intersection of the two main thoroughfares. The installation of modern street lighting systems with underground wires. And the gradual improvements in store fronts and business places.
It calls for the establishment of drives, playgrounds, and parks; the acquiring of a woodland reservation, adjoining Highland Cemetery, at the edge of the town, for a public park; and purchase of an outlying mountain top for future recreation. Much of the plan has been carried out. A unique and beautiful parkway has been made by utilizing the abandoned basin of the old canal, which cut through the heart of Lock Haven; the Nolen plan was filled, and has blossomed into one of the show places of the city, with flower beds, lawn, trees, and special landscape garden effect at each end. The river front has been made into a park, at entrance to the bridge, over the Susquehanna, a modern structure built by the state, which replaced a picturesque, covered bridge built, 1855, about 800 feet long; it includes the old toll house, pronounced by Mr. Nolen a valuable asset for the city. A smaller, quaint, old covered wood bridge, same period, about four miles from Lock Haven, spans Bald Eagle stream, on Bald Eagle Valley Road; near is the Clinton "Country Club" house, artistically built of cobblestones, architect, Lester Kintzing, New York.
The Courthouse, red brick and brownstone, surmounted by two dome-shaped towers, built in 1869, on site of an earlier one built, 1842, is on Water Street facing the river. On the river front is a stone marker, inscription, "Located in the stockade of Fort Reed, built, 1775, for defense against the Indians." On the river road, leading to Williamsport, near McElhattan, is site of Fort Horn, stone marker, both placed by the Hugh White Chapter, D. A. R., to mark the last two, of the trail of stockade fortifications, built along the river in defense of the pioneer settlers. Where Lock Haven stands was original site of several Indian villages; burial places; and marked one of their great thoroughfares from the north to., the coast. Granite monument to 1938 soldiers of Clinton County in the Civil War is in center of city.