Newportville  is found at a picturesque location along a wooded section of the Neshaminy Creek. The village was called Neshaminy in 1836 when a post office was established, but after only two weeks the name was changed to Newportville. Newport was the original name of the village and this name continued in use even after the "ville" was officially added.
Newportville is a relatively large village and contains several dozen residences and a few commercial uses. Most of the houses are small, single family homes which were probably built in the 1950s. A large Inn and a tavern appear to be two of the oldest buildings in Newportville. A church, fire house, barber shop, and a farm produce stand are also found in the village.
New Falls Road • Newportville Road