Fanwood Borough Hall is located at 75 North Marine Avenue, Fanwood, NJ 07023; phone: 908-322-8236.
Originally known as Fanwood Park, the Borough was one of several early railroad suburbs established by the Central Railroad of New Jersey in the 1860s and 1870s. The railroad sought to encourage passenger and commuter traffic on a railroad that was otherwise chiefly a freight hauler. The railroad's land development company played the major role in the development of Fanwood. Fanwood Park, with its larger lots and curvilinear streets exemplified a picturesque "Railroad and Horsecar Suburb." 
Fanwood as described in 1939 
Fanwood has a home-owning population protected by close restrictions on business buildings. The town was named for Miss Fannie Wood, a writer, daughter of a Jersey Central Railroad official. The Spence House (Martine Avenue) was built in 1774 and used during the Revolution by American soldiers. A strong room in the cellar with the name "George Washington" carved on a beam is believed to have served as a prison cell. The large, red brick chimney has the date 1774 in white brick.