banner search whats new site index home

Johnston County North Carolina

Johnston County Courthouse is located at 207 East Johnston Street, Smithfield, NC 27577; phone: 919-989-5100.

Johnston County was created in 1746 from Craven County and named in honor of Gabriel Johnston, North Carolina's royal governor at the time. Johnston County originally contained most of what is now Wake, Wayne, Greene, and Lenoir counties and part of Wilson. Johnston County has been an agricultural community since its founding. Agriculture is a valued and defining feature of the history, landscape, and culture of the county.

Information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed. • Privacy | Disclaimer © 1997-2019 • The Gombach Group • Contact • 2866