Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Riverside Historic District

Jacksonville City, Duval County, FL

The Riverside Historic District [‡] was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.

The Riverside Historic District is a large, mainly residential neighborhood whose architecture spans a period from approximately 1871 to 1935. The Riverside District is located southwest of downtown Jacksonville on the west side of the St. Johns River. The District contains over 30 subdivisions and three major parks. At its widest, it is bounded on the north and east by Roosevelt Boulevard and Seaboard Coastline Railroad, on the south by the St. Johns River, and on the west by Seminole and McDuff avenues. The majority of the buildings in Riverside reflect middle and upper income taste in residential architecture during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The significant styles represented include Bungalow, Prairie School, Colonial Revival and Mediterranean.

‡ Adapted from: Jacksonville Planning and Development Department, Historic Preservation for the Riverside Avondale Historic Districts, 1992, www.coj.net, accessed March, 2017.

Nearby Neighborhoods

Street Names
Aberdeen Street • Azalea Terrace • Barrs Street • Bayard Place • Bishopgate Lane • Cherry Street • Cherry Street • Copeland Street • Donald Street • Elizabeth Place • Goodwin Street • Herschel Street • James Street • King Street • Lancaster Street • Lomas Street • Mallory Street • Margaret Street • May Street • McDuff Avenue South • Memorial Park Drive • Memorial Park Terrace • Oak Street • Osceola Street • Park Street • Plaza Place • Post Street • Powell Place • River Boulevard • Rivera Parkway • Riverside Avenue • Riverside Park Place • Route 211 • Seminole Road • Shircliff Way • St Johns Avenue • Stockton Street • Vernon Terrace • Willow Branch Avenue • Willow Branch Terrace