Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Washington Town

Litchfield County, Connecticut

Washington Town Hall is located at 2 Bryan Plaza, Washington Depot, CT 06794.
Phone: 860‑868‑2786.


Beginnings [1]

The Town of Washington was settled in 1734. In 1741, the Judea Society of Woodbury was organized, and in 1753 another parish at New Preston. A town was incorporated in 1779, the first in the country to be named for George Washington.

Washington is a mountain region, cut by the deep gorge of the Shepaug River and noted for its scenery. In 1935 there was a large summer colony on Lake Waramaug, as well as many estates in the vicinity of Washington Center.

  1. Edgar L. Heermance, compiler, The Connecticut Guide: What to See and Where to Find It, Connecticut Emergency Relief Commission, Hartford, 1935.

Nearby Towns: Bantam Boro • New Milford Town • Warren Town •