Stover Myers Mill is a 21-acre County Park with on-site fishing and picnicking. The focal point of the park is the circa 1800 grist/saw mill. This property was entered into the National Register of Historic Places in 1977. Text, below, is excerpted from a copy of the original nomination document submitted to the National Register.
Jacob Stover, of the same family of Stovers prominent in Bucks County history, built the mill in 1800. Years earlier while a teenager, he had hauled supplies and men for General Sullivan's colonial force during the Revolutionary War. In 1784 he purchased the 153 acre parcel of land on which the mill and his farm were erected.
In continuous operation until 1956, the mill was run by a succession of family descendants and lessees. Samuel Stover, Jacob's son, eventually purchased the mill from his father in 1836. His daughter, Eliza, married Christian Myers who ran his father-in-law's business until 1910. Christian's son, S. Horace, owned the mill until 1941. The last millers who leased the business were Noah Trauger and his son Claude.
During its early years the mill, first powered with tub wheels and then with turbines, produced wheat, rye and corn flours and a variety of livestock feeds. With a demand for refined flour growing, Christian Myers installed a flour gyrator and other necessary equipment in the 1880s. To provide the additional consistent power needed for his expanding business, he also installed a steam engine at that time. Although the water turbines were still used in times of adequate water supply, the steam engine did provide insurance in the even of drought or freeze-up.
The adjoining sawmill, of the vertical type, was used until 1918. It provided beams, joists and planks for area farms and towns. A unique feature of the sawmill is the old millstone used as a flywheel.
from National Register of Historic Places, Nomination Document, 1977.
School District: Pennridge