Palo Pinto County administrative offices are located at 520 Oak Street, Palo Pinto, TX 76484. Phone: 940-659-1277.
Palo Pinto County [†] is predominately ranch land with a sizable cattle industry and numerous manufacturing and petroleum facilities. Palo Pinto County was created in 1856 from >a href="/TX/Bosque_County.html">Bosque and Navarro counties and organized in 1857. The early pioneers recognized the need for a governmental institution and built the first courthouse in 1857, the second in 1882, and the third and present courthouse in 1940‑1942.
The first settlers came to the valley about the time of formation in 1856 and 1857. Some of the newcomers were emigrants, but many were families who had first settled in another section of the county and moved later to the new county seat. The settlers began building log cabins and picket houses on this new frontier. Golconda, the first settlement and county seat, developed in this picturesque valley of cedar-covered hills and the winding Brazos River.
The Spanish explorers are responsible for the name Palo Pinto which means painted pole or painted stick. As those eariy day adventurers rode through the country, that is now known as Palo Pinto County, they noticed the brilliant colored autunm leaves of red and gold along the creek they followed and crossed, naming the creek, "Palo Pinto." The county was named Palo Pinto and the name of Golconda was later changed to Palo Pinto as well.
† Adapted from: Tara Scott, Jean Price, Pauline Mitchell, Robb Smith, and Dwayne Jones, Palo Pinto County Historical Commission, Palo Pinto County Courthouse, nomontaion document, National Register of Historic Places, Washington, D.C., 1997, accessed December, 2021.