Ringtown Borough municipal offices are located at 31 South Center Street, Ringtown PA 17967.
Phone: 570‑889‑3095. Formed from Union Township, the Borough was incorporated in 1909.
The land on which Ringtown is located was owned by Benjamin Nehf in 1838, and at that time there were four houses in the place — one nearly opposite the Mansion House, built by Jesse Hart in 1828; one where the Exchange Hotel now stands, built by Abraham Fry in 1830; one on the site of P. M. Barrow's residence, built by Peter Laudig in 1833. Mr. Nehf laid out a town site and interested himself in building up the village. In 1843 Daniel Goho opened a hotel in the Jesse Hart house, and two years later the Exchange Hotel was built by Samuel Rupert, and known as the Rising Sun Hotel.
Ringtown takes its name from a thieving act which occurred in the locality in 1830 and caused an enemy of Mr. Nehf to speak sneeringly of the place at Ringtown. That title has still clung to it despite the efforts of its founders, and, having long since lost its significance, it is now acquiesced in by all.
In 1880 the village contained about 60 dwellings, 3 hotels, 3 general stores, 5 shoe shops, 4 wood working shops, 2 smithies, a tannery built in 1860 by P. M. Barrow, and a school house. It had one physician, two clergymen, one file cutter, one tinsmith and one saddler. The only post-office in Union Township prior to 1845 was removed here after a migratory experience of some years, and in 1854 its name was changed from Catawissa Valley to Ringtown.
The grounds of the Catawissa Valley Agricultural Society are located here, the enterprise having been largely local in its inception. Buildings were erected in 1871 and it was a popular location for local fairs.
Nearby Towns: Frackville Boro • Shenandoah Boro •