Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Bixby City

Tulsa County, Oklahoma

Bixby City Hall is located at 116 West Needles Avenue, Bixby, OK 74008.
Phone: 918‑366‑4430.


Bixby, established in 1893, quieted down after an early history of "outlaws" and became a prosperous agricultural center. It was named for Tams Bixby, chairman of the Dawes Commission which was created by Congress in 1983 to close out the affairs of the Five Civilized Tribes. The purpose of the commission was to exchange lands of the Cherokee, Creek, Choctaw, Chickasaw and Seminole Indian tribes for new land allotments in Oklahoma. [1, 2]

  1. Workers of the Federal Writers' Program, Works Progress Administration in the State of Oklahoma, Harold O. Hunter, Commissioner, Oklahoma: A Guide to the Sooner State, University of Oklahoma Press, Norman, OK, 1941.
  2. wiki.familysearch.org, Dawes Commission Enrollment Records for Five U.S. Indian Tribes, accessed May, 2011.

Nearby Towns: Broken Arrow City •