Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Nassau County, New York

Nassau County Courthouse is located at 1 West Street, Mineola, NY 11501; phone: 516‑571‑3000.


The county is divided among 3 towns: Hempstead, North Hempstead, and Oyster Bay, and 2 cities, Long Beach and Glen Cove. The 3 towns contain 64 Incorporated Villages and more than 100 unincorporated areas.

Nassau County was incorporated in 1899 from Queens County. The county was originally settled in the 1600s, primarily by British immigrants who found their way "down" from New England.