banner search whats new site index home

Perth Town

Perth Town Hall is located at 1849 County Highway 107, Amsterdam NY 12010; phone: 518-843-6977.

Beginnings [1]

Perth was formed from Amsterdam (Montgomery County) April 18, 1831. Parts of Mayfield and Broadalbin were annexed February 17, 1842. It is the southeast corner town of the county. The first settlement commenced along the road from Tribes Hill to Sacandaga Lake, about 1760. Charles Mereness, Richard Bowen, Marcus Reese, someone named Davis, Michael Swobe, and Francis Frey were all settled here prior to 1770. Lawrence E. Van Allen, Henry Van Valkenburgh, Ira Benedict, Conrad and Francis Winne, Derby Newman, James and William Robb, and Peter Vosburgh settled soon after the Revolution.

  1. French, J. H., Gazetteer of the State of New York, 1860, R. Pearsall Smith, Syracuse NY
**Information is curated from a variety of sources and, while deemed reliable, is not guaranteed. © 1997-2019 • The Gombach Group • Contact • 1024 • Privacy | Disclaimer