Hobart Village Hall is located at 80 Cornell Avenue, Hobart NY 13788.
Incorporated in 1888, formerly know as Waterville and Tinkertown, Hobart today is promoted as "Book Village of the Catskills," its four vintage book stores, unique in a village of such small size and population, less than 400 residents. Hobart's grass-roots development plans are modeled after "Hay-on-Wye," an English book village catering to tourists with more than 30 book shops and other businesses.
- The Mansion House hotel was opened about 1830.
- Charles Whiting built a foundry in 1849.
- The Hobart Agricultural Society was organized in 1876.
- The Hobart Independent Newspaper was established in 1885.
- Village incorporated in 1888.
- First elected village president was Dr. J. S. McNaught.
- First tavern kept by George Foote.
- First physician was Dr. Joshua H. Brett, who was also the first judge to serve in Delaware County.
- Cyrus Beers opened the first store.
- First lawyers were J. B. Spencer and Andrew Beers.
- First postmaster was William Trotter.
- A fire department was organized in 1886, incorporated in 1894 as the Star Hose Company No. 1.
- A creamery was established in 1888 by L.B. Halsey and J. V. Jordan under the name Jordan & Halsey.
- The Union School of Hobart was organized in 1891.
- David Murray, LL.D., editor, Delaware County New York, History of the Century, 1797-1897, Centennial Celebration, William Clark Publisher, Delhi, N.Y., 1898.