banner search whats new site index home

State of Hawaii

Downtown Honolulu Hawaii

Photo: Downtown Honolulu, photographed April, 2007 by Username:ErgoSum88,, accessed September, 2012.

  • Capitol:Honolulu
  • Largest City: Honolulu
  • Nickname: Aloha State
  • State Bird: Nene
  • State Tree: Candlenut
  • State Flower: Pua Aloalo (Hibiscus)
  • Motto: "The life of the land is perpetuated in righteousness" (Ua mau ke ea o ka aina I ka pono)

The volcanic chain that comprises the State of Hawaii is made up of 8 main islands — Ni'ihau, Kaua'i, O'ahu, Moloka'i, Lana'i, Kaho'olawe, Maui and Hawai'i. †

From 1810-1983 Hawaii was a sovereign state known as the Kingdom of Hawaii. From 1894-1898 it was a republic, the monarchy having been overthrown by efforts of European and American business interests. The U.S. annexed Hawaii as a territory in 1898. Hawaii officially became the 50th state in 1959.

Census Bureau estimates (2011) put the population of Hawaii at nearly 1.4 million. Median sale prices for homes in Hawaii are the highest in the nation as of 2011.

Hawaii has no municipal government. All local government is administered through the five counties.

†, accessed September, 2012.

Living Places information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed. • Copyright © 1997-2017
The Gombach Group • 215-295-6555 •