banner search whats new site index home

Macon County Georgia

Macon County administrative offices are located at 121 South Sumter Street, Oglethorpe, GA 31608; phone: 478-472-7021.

Macon was organized in 1837 from parts of Houston and Marion counties. It is named for North Carolina congressman, General Nathaniel Macon. The economy primarily revolves around agriculture and related businesses. The Elberta Peach, memorialized in Georgia's State motto, The Peach State, was developed in Macon County by Henry Rumph.

Information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed. • Privacy | Disclaimer © 1997-2019 • The Gombach Group • Contact • 1472