Newtown Borough

Fairfield County, Connecticut

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact | Search

Newtown Borough Hall is located at 10 Queen Street, Newtown CT 06470.
Phone: 203‑426‑2022.

The Borough of Newtown, located in the central area of Newtown encompasses an area of approximately 1,252 acres or one square mile. The Borough was incorporated in 1824 by an act of the Connecticut General Assembly. It is a unique self-governing municipal unit, one of only nine Boroughs located in the State of Connecticut. [1]

By 1824 the village was sufficiently populous and densely built that the local citizens decided to form a borough government. Administered by a warden and board of burgesses, boroughs in Connecticut provide particular parts of towns with services that are outside the scope of ordinary town government, such as fire protection, water, and, eventually, street lights and sidewalks. The boundaries of the historic district lie within (and make up the major part of) the Borough of Newtown, an entity that waxed and waned over time but remains in active existence today. The borough included 40 to 50 houses in 1836. [2]

  1. www.newtown-ct-gov, accessed May, 2010.
  2. Bruce Clouette and Hoang Tinh, consultants, and John Herzan, Connecticut Historical Commission, Newtown Borough Historic District, nomination document, 1995, National Park Service, National Register of Historic Places, Washington, D.C.

Nearby Towns: Bethel Town • Brookfield Town • Monroe Town • Newtown Town • Southbury Town •

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact
Privacy | Disclaimer

Copyright © 1997-2024, The Gombach Group