banner search whats new site index home

Baton Rouge City

Baton Rouge City-Parish Hall is located at 222 Saint Louis Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; phone: 225-389-5100.

Laurel Street Station (Fire Station Number 1) 1801 Laurel Street, Baton Rouge, LA
Photo: Laurel Street Station (Fire Station Number 1) — in the mid-1920s, the growing city of Baton Rouge built and dedicated four "modern picturesque engine houses" designed to harmonize with residential neighborhoods. Today, Fire Station No. 1 is the only one still serving in its original capacity. The city is planning to renovate this station, which has operated efficiently for over fifty years. Historic American Buildings Survey [LA-1127], photographed by David J. Kaminsky, 1978,, accessed March, 2011.

Baton Rouge is governed under a unique structure begun in 1949 and continuing today. A detailed history and explanation of this hybrid political entity can be found on the city-parish website:

The area that is now Baton Rouge was discovered in 1699 by a French Explorer named Pierre LeMoyne Sieur d'Iberville. He gave it the name (literally, "red stick") memorializing a fish-blood tainted pole that was used as a boundary marker separating the territories of two Indian groups – the Houma and the Bayougoula. Through the 1700s it was variously controlled and ruled by French, English and Spanish interests. The city was incorporated in 1817, and became the state capitol in 1849, losing that designation during the Civil War, and subsequently restored as the capitol in 1882.

Information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed. • Privacy
Copyright © 1997-2015 • The Gombach Group • • 13853