Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Carbon County, Wyoming


Carbon County administrative offices are located at 415 West Pine Street, Rawlins, WY 82301; phone: 307-328-2670.

Carbon County was established in 1868 from Laramie County which was part of the Dakota Territory. The same year the Union Pacific Railroad opened the first coal mine within the county boundaries, and thus the county was named in recognition of the plentiful coal deposits.