Springtown is one of the oldest settlements in Springfield Township. In 1738, a 500-acre tract was sold to Stephen Twining who, in 1763, sold 300 acres of this property to Abraham Funk, the founder of Springtown. Funk built a mill in 1782 on Spring Creek. This creek was fed by a spring located west of the village; the spring is probably the source of Springtown's name. The mill was operated for several generations by the Funk family. From 1886 to 1918 the Funks also published a weekly paper called the Springtown Times. Several residents of Springtown petitioned for a borough charter in 1895. The petition was approved by the jury but, for some reason, Springtown never became incorporated. The post office was established in 1806 and is one of the oldest operating post offices in Upper Bucks County.
Springtown is quite large for a village and is probably closer to a small town in size and character. The main street through Springtown is lined with several charming older homes and small businesses. Many interesting and attractive homes are also located to the north of the village. One particularly interesting structure on the main street is a very large and long stone building which appears to be partially vacant. Whatever the building was once used for, it is a good potential candidate for restoration. In addition to the commercial and residential uses, Springfield also contains a fire company, a post office, a social club, and three churches. Many new homes are presently being built around Springtown.
Source: Springfield Township Comprehensive Plan, 2002
Lower Saucon Road • Main Street • Route 212 • Route412