banner search whats new site index home

Barnes County North Dakota

Barnes Counry administrative offices are located at 230 Fourth Street, Valley City, ND 58072.

Prior to 1874, what would become Barnes County was known as Burbank County, in honor of John A. Burbank who was governor of the territory from 1869 to 1873. The county was organized in 1879 and the county seat named Worthington. However, the city was often confused with Worthington Minnesota, and thus the name was changed to Valley City in May of the same year.

Information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed.
Privacy | Disclaimer © 1997-2019
The Gombach Group • Contact • 3051