Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Cumberland County, North Carolina


Cumberland County Neighborhoods

The Cumberland County Courthouse is located at 117 Dick Street, Fayetteville, NC 28301; phone: 910-678-7723.

The area that would become Cumberland County was first settled ca. 1730 by immigrants known as the Highland Scots. They established a distribution center along the Cape Fear River known as Camplellton. The county was created in 1754 from a portion of Bladen County and named for William Augustus, the Duke of Cumberland. [History, www.co.cumberland.nc.us, accessed October, 2011.]