banner search whats new site index home

Clay County Mississippi

The Clay County courthouse is located at 205 Court Street, West Point, MS 39773; phone: 662-494-3124.

Colfax County was created with land that was taken from Lowndes, Oktibbeha, Chickasaw, and Monroe Counties. It was named for the Indiana Republican senator, Schuyler Colfax. In 1876, following the collapse of the state's "Carpetbagger" government, citizens of the new county voted to change its name to honor a southern statesman, Henry Clay.

Information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed.
Privacy | Disclaimer © 1997-2019
The Gombach Group • Contact • 3051