banner search whats new site index home

Lafayette County Missouri

Lafayette County administrative offices are located at 1001 Main Street, Lexington, MO 64067; phone: 660-259-4315.

Lafayette County Courthouse
Photo: Lafayette County Courthouse, Calvin Beale, photographer, 2000, U. S. Department of Agriculture,, accessed April, 2011.

Lafayette County was organized November 16, 1820, (effective January 1, 1821) from Cooper County and named for Marquis de La Fayette. Originally organized as Lillard County in honor of James (William) Lillard of Tennessee, who served in the first state constitutional convention and first state legislature. The name was changed in honor of Marquis de La Fayette's visit to the United States by an act of the Legislature on February 16, 1825. [1]

  1. Missouri History,, accessed April, 2011.
Information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed. • Privacy | Disclaimer © 1997-2019 • The Gombach Group • Contact • 2510