banner search whats new site index home

Clay County Iowa

The Clay County courthouse is located at 300 West 4th Street, Spencer, IA 51301; phone: 712-262-9438.

Clay County was organized in 1858 and named for Henry Clay, Jr. of Kentucky [1811-1847] who served as a Lt. Colonel in the Mexican War. Peterson served as the county seat until 1871 at which time it was moved to Spencer.

Information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed. • Privacy | Disclaimer © 1997-2019 • The Gombach Group • Contact • 1799