Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Wilkinson County, Georgia


The Wilkinson County Courthouse is located at 100 Bacon Street, Irwinton, GA 31042; phone: 478-946-2221.

Wilkinson County [1] is located in the central part of the state, north of Interstate 16 and south of Interstate 20, along Georgia's Fall Line which divides the Piedmont from the Coastal Plain. The county is approximately 100 miles southeast of Atlanta and 35 miles east of Macon. Wilkinson County was created in 1803 from Indian lands ceded in 1802 (and the later 1805 cessation) as the 28th Georgia county, and named for a veteran of the Revolutionary and 1812 Wars, General James Wilkinson. The county courthouse is located in the city of Irwinton; there are five other municipalities, Allentown, Gordon, Ivey, McIntyre, and Toomsboro. The City of Danville is partially located in Wilkinson County and partially located in Twiggs County.

  1. Joint Comprehensive Plan for Wilkinson County and the Cities of Allentown, Gordon, Irwinton, Ivey, Mcintyre and Toomsboro, draft, April 2006, www.wilkinsoncounty.net, accessed October, 2015.

Home   Whats New   Site Index
LivingPlaces.com © 1997‑2023
Search   Contact   Privacy   Disclaimer