This village was first known as Bridge Point because of the seven arch stone bridge built over the Neshaminy Creek in 1800. However, the village may have been called Bridge Point as early as 1764 because an earlier bridge was also located on this spot. In the early 1800s the village was a manufacturing center of considerable importance. This was largely due to Doctor Samuel Moore who arrived in Edison from Cumberland County, New Jersey, in 1808. Dr. Moore was a very enterprising businessman and, while in Edison, he bought the grist and oil mills, established a woolen factory and saw mill, built shops, a school house, and several dwellings. When the post office was established in 1880, the settlement was renamed Edison in honor of the famous inventor.
Edison was fortunate when Route 611 was rerouted around the village. Otherwise, a charming Bucks County village would very likely have disappeared. Edison is located on a quiet, tree-lined street. Several old stone and stucco houses are found in the village. The Old Bridge Point School, established by Doctor Moore and in use from 1818 to 1882, is beautifully restored and is now used as a residence. Another large building, possibly a former factory or mill, has been converted to an apartment house. An interesting curved stone bridge crosses the Neshaminy as one approaches the village edge. There are still a few business and commercial uses in Edison, including a used furniture store, a contractor-excavator, and a restoration corporation. A working quarry is located just north of Edison. 
School District: Central Bucks