Olyphant Borough Hall is located at 113 Willow Avenue, Olyphant PA 18447; phone: 570-489-2135.
The "Queen Borough of the mid valley," had as its first settler James Ferris, who built a cabin in 1798 where Lynch's store later stood on Delaware Street. At the time Ferris made his "pitch" or claim the section was in Providence Township. Later (1818), Blakely Township, including all of the midvalley, was created out of Providence and Greenfield townships. Olyphant for a score of years after the place had taken on the dignity of a village and a name continued as part of Blakely. In 1877 Olyphant became a borough. In many ways it is the most progressive of the mid valley boroughs. Its business center is compactly built and the community has the looks and air of a city. Olyphant which in 1880 had a population of but 2,097 now has approximately 12,000. It boasts of two weekly newspapers, three banks, a municipal lighting plant, public swimming pool, modern school system and a greater mileage of paved streets than any mid valley borough.