Borough municipal offices are located at 22 Reading Boulevard, Wyomissing, PA 19610; phone: 610-376-7481.
First settled around 1896, Wyomissing was incorporated July 22, 1906 from Spring Township. In 2003 Wyomissing Hills was dissolved and merged into Wyomissing Borough.
Approximately two-thirds of the single family residences in the borough are detached singles, with balance being a mix of town homes, row homes, twins and condos.
Many late-19th and early 20th century homes are found on: 8th and 9th Streets, Cleveland, Dauphin, Delaware, Evans, Fairview and Garfield Avenues.
The Textile Machine Works, manufacturer of knitting and braiding machines, moved to Wyomissing in 1896. Just weeks before the borough's incorporation, the Machine Works launched an experimental knitting mill to test and showcase their manufactured machinery. The Berkshire Knitting Mill grew to be the largest, full-fashioned knitting mill in the world.