banner search whats new site index home

Robesonia Borough

Boro Hall is located at 75 South Brook Street, Robesonia PA 19551; phone: 610-693-5799.

Robesonia Borough was incorporated about 1913 from Heidelberg Township.

Photo: George Ege Mansion,

Founded 1794 as Reading Furnace by ironmaster George Ege. In 1845 Henry P. Robeson expanded the furnace, spurring establishment in 1855 of the town of Robesonia. Although the furnace itself ceased operation and was razed in 1927, the Georgian-style ironmaster's mansion, Italianate office building, workers' houses, and other structures survived.

George Ege Mansion

George Ege [pronounced 'Eggy'], for whom this house was built, was born March 9, 1748. He was known during his time as the largest landowner in Berks County and was identified with the iron interests. Besides four large fares in Tulpehocken and Heidelberg Townships, he owned Charming Forge with 4,000 acres, Schuylkill Forge with 6,000 acres, and Reading Furnace with 6,000 acres.

This house was built near the site or the Reading Furnace which Ege had started in 1794. Operation of the Reading Furnace was suspended during the depression of 1824. It later passed to Robeson and Brooke and became known as the Robesonia Furnace.

Ege was a patriot during the Revolution, and in 1783 was elected a member of the General Assembly of Pennsylvania. He was also one of the first Associate Judges of Berks County under the Constitution of 1790. He served as Associate Judge from 1791 to 1818. Ege died December 1829, at his home at Charming Forge and was buried at Womelsdorf.

The Ege Mansion is a large, two-story, five-bay, stone house with fine Georgian details. The house has been enlarged by an open porch on the west side and a large kitchen and service wing on the east. The south (front) and north (or garden) facades have not been changed. The house is in excellent condition and is well maintained by the present owners.

The walls and foundation are of stone, the porch on the west side is frame. Two interior chimneys rise above the gable roof, marking the center of the rooms that flank the central hall.

  1. Historic American Building Survey [HABS PA-1026]; preparers: Osmund R. Overby, National Park Service, 1961; Drury B. Alexander, University of Pennsylvania, 1958; accessed 04/2007, www.memory.loc.gov.
  2. Photo: Historic American Buildings Survey [HABS PA,6-ROBSO,1-1], Cervin Robinson, photographer.
Information is deemed reliable but not guaranteed. • Privacy
Copyright © 1997-2014 • The Gombach Group • www.gombach.com • 19365