Lower Alsace Township
Township municipal offices are located 1200 Carsonia Avenue, Reading PA 19606; phone: 610-779-6400.
Lower Alsace was separated from Alsace in 1888. It was called Lower Alsace because of its location. It is the smallest township in the county, and contains more wooded land than cleared farm area. Its early history is the same as that of Alsace, from which it was taken.
On Mount Penn, in 1890, was built a gravity railroad, eight miles long, that is each year becoming more popular. The Neversink was built at the same time, and is of the same length. It is also very much used.
Carsonia Park was begun in 1896 and is owned by United Traction Company. It is quite a resort, has many places of amusement, and is frequented by many visitors. Part of it lies in Exeter Township.
The Egelman and Antietam Reservoirs, lying in the township, are parts of the Reading water supply system.
The principal village is Stony Creek Mills, so named from the mills which form its chief industry. The Borough of Mount Penn lies in this township and divides Lower Alsace into two parts.
From Mount Penn to Stony Creek Mills, along the Friedensburg Road, there are many dwellings, some of these are nestled along the wooded hillside, affording romantic scenery.
East of Carsonia Park is Melrose, a new suburban town, and west of Carsonia is Pennside, a flourishing suburb.