Newport Village Hall is located at 7444 East Street, Newport NY 13416; phone: 315-845-8543.
Newport became an incorporated village in 1857 and was described in 1860 as including three churches, one bank, one gristmill, a cotton factory employing 80 persons, and 671 inhabitants (J.H. French, 1860). Main Street, the principal street in the village, was located on the east side of the West Canada Creek. By 1850, the street was lined with large and fashionable residences and connected business blocks, many of which were constructed of native limestone. More than a dozen of these distinctive limestone buildings remain, contributing to Newport's unique architectural character.