The Town of Ticonderoga Town Hall is located at 132 Montcalm Street, Ticonderoga NY 12883; phone: 518-585-6265.
The name "Ticonderoga" is one of the most significant and familiar in American History. The Iroquois word, meaning "the land between the waters," describes the historic portage between Lake Champlain and Lake George used by Native Americans for 10,000 years.
Here France and Britain fought the empire in the French and Indian War, and America and Britain struggled during the Revolution. Over fifty plaques throughout the Town of Ticonderoga mark historic sites and remember legendary heroes, including St. Issac Joques, British Lord Howe, Robert Rogers of the Rangers, French General Montcalm, American General Henry Knox, and the Green Mountain Boys of Vermont.
Ticonderoga also has a significant history in the Paper making Industry. International Paper's Ticonderoga mill traces its origins to 1882 and the banks of the LaChute River in the village of Ticonderoga. The Ticonderoga mill is one of the few mills in the industry that includes the entire papermaking process - from eight-foot logs at one end to reams of copying paper at the other. On a typical day the Ticonderoga mill produces 850 tons of fine white paper. Ticonderoga is also the home of the former "Dixon Crucible Company" that produced the original "Ticonderoga Pencil," which remains famous to this day.
Today, Ticonderoga continues to experience responsible growth through development that recognizes and balances its historic significance and contemporary commercial vitality while maintaining the pristine quality of its mountain and lake Adirondack environment.