Claremont City Hall is located at 58 Opera House Square, Claremont NH 03743; phone: 603-542-7002.
On October 26, 1764, a township six miles square, containing 24,000 acres, and named Claremont, was granted to Josiah Willard, Samuel Ashley, and 68 others. The name of the town was derived from the county seat of Lord Clive, a celebrated English General who was styled as the founder of the British Empire in India.
Claremont is located in the western portion of New Hampshire, approximately 50 miles north of the Massachusetts line. The town is bounded on the west by the Connecticut River, New Hampshire's boundary with Vermont. Claremont lies some five miles east of the Connecticut on a small tributary, the Sugar River.
The Claremont region is characterized by rugged terrain, and some of the highest and most scenic mountain ranges on the eastern seaboard. But because of its industrial background, the inherent qualities of Claremont's setting and historic mill structures were often overlooked. It's decidedly urban character, on a small scale, set in a rural context, makes it a unique town.
Emma Houde House 
The Emma Houde House (photo — also known as the Arpin House) was used as a private home (which also accepted boarders) initially, and was later acquired by the Moose Club, which used it as a fraternal hall. In the 1920s, the Beadreau brothers purchased the property as their home. In 1936 the Arpin family acquired the property and created a second story apartment. The structure was part of a solidly French Canadian immigrant neighborhood developed about 1900 at the intersection of Washington and Winter streets, stimulated by the expansion of Claremont's textile and machine tool industry.