McCordsville Town Hall is located at 6280 West 800 North, McCordsville, IN 46055; phon e: 317-335-3151.
The first settler in that area the would becom the town was William McCord who came ca. 1833.
The Town of McCordsville was originally platted in 1865 with the original plat for the Town consisting of thirty-four (34) lots as laid out by James Nagley. It was officially incorporated as a Town in 1988, drawing its name from the McCord family, early settlers in the area who also platted a portion of the Town in 1873. While a small area of the originally platted Town remains, much of the land within the current Town boundaries is comprised of new subdivisions and undeveloped land. It is this area outside the Old Town Center that is experiencing some of the greatest development pressure in Hancock County.
McCordsville had a bustling economy in its early years, with several general merchandise stores, a grist mill, and a saw mill. Around 1895, McCordsville became home to a telephone manufacturing company, and for two years the Leader automobile factory assembled automobiles in its McCordsville plant. The first church in McCordsville, the Gillum Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church, was established in 1854 prior to the platting of the Town, and the first grade school was opened in McCordsville in 1874.
Today one can glimpse remnants of the past along Broadway where the original plat of the Town follows the railroad. A mercantile, church, and lodge still stand as a reminder of the past. These structures have been preserved, remodeled, and reused throughout the past decades and centuries. They contribute to the unique character of the Town and remind the residents of McCordsville of their community's past.