Hamden Town Hall is located at 2750 Dixwell Avenue, Hamden, CT 06518; phone: 203-287-7050.
The town of Hamden was incorporated in 1786 from New Haven, for which it served as a residential and manufacturing suburb. The first settlement seems to have been Matthew Gilbert's sheep farm in 1664. The town is bounded on the west by the West Rock range. Mill River, on the east, has a series of charming ponds ending in Lake Whitney. The most striking feature of Hamden is the trap rock range of Mount Carmel, which lies across the valley.